Jackboot Tapdance

Pete Tschantz' blog

A personal journey

Posted by jackboottapdance on September 18, 2009

I have been struggling with reconnecting with God for some time now. We had a tragedy in my family this year, the kind of thing that really makes you take a long hard look at your life and how you are living it. But, even though I knew I was missing that relationship with God, I let other things get in the way and went right back to the familiar easy way of living I was used to.

This week, however, that same feeling of missing something has been back. So I have been reading online again, trying to figure out why I’m having such a problem reconnecting. I have a couple of good friends who are Christians, and I have to admit that their examples have motivated and inspired me. Then this morning, I happened across a podcast on iTunes from Greg Laurie. For whatever reason, his words got through to me and I prayed for Jesus to reenter my life.

If you are seeking something, or having a problem figuring out what you believe and/or how to connect with God, please take a look at this site:

KnowGod.org

It might not be what you are looking for, but then again it might be.

This week has been a long one. I had a great day Tuesday, deer hunting. While in the stand, I started re-reading Wild at Heart: Discovering the Secret of a Man’s Soul’, by John Eldredge. It is a wonderful book, and really started me thinking. The rest of the week has found me tired and somewhat depressed, which I thought was just a result of long days. However, today after praying and reconnecting with God, I feel much better. Happy and energetic, as though a weight has been lifted from me. Which it has.

I hope that if you are looking, you will find what you are seeking.

2 Responses to “A personal journey”

  1. misangela said

    Hmm. Not sure what to say. Guess I’ll say that I’m glad you are finding respite and peace. I know this year has been a heavy one for you and J. And I’m all for whatever works! šŸ™‚ You might like to read the Conversations With God series by Neale D Walsch. Interesting take on the God thing.

    I also have to say that I’m impressed with your marksmanship on the hunt. Looks like it was a one shot clean kill. I’m glad for that. Although I love eating various critters, I do feel guilty about how they die and I certainly could not do it myself. Wild animals are typically killed much more humanely than domesticated ones, a fact I don’t like to think much about. ::non vegetarian guilt::

    Anyway, thanks for posting about important things. That’s what a personal blog is for – something many bloggers have forgotten. ::hug::

Leave a Reply

 
